Three Branches of Government & How a Bill becomes a Law: Process

Three Branches of Government & How a Bill becomes a Law: Process


 Here we go…..



Scroll down to find your branch of government and follow the procedures to complete the assignment.






Legislative Branch

    Welcome, fellow Congressmen and Congresswomen!  To get started, you need to investigate your branch of the government.  You will need to find out what the legislative purpose is and what important role your branch plays in making our country’s laws. 

Step1:  Click here to print the worksheet. You will use it to help you research your branch of government.

Step 2: – Use the web sites below to find out about the Legislative Branch of Government. Fill out the worksheet as you go. 



Read More

Three Branches of Government

In 1787 leaders of the states gathered to write the Constitution-a set of principles that told how the new nation would be governed.

The leaders of the states wanted a strong and fair national government. But they also wanted to protect individual freedoms and prevent the government from abusing its power. They believed they could do this by having three separate branches of government: the executive, the legislative and the judicial. This separation is described in the first three articles, or sections, of the Constitution.

Legislative Branch

The Capitol Building is where the legislative branch works.
Source: AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite

The legislative branch is made up of the two houses of Congress—the Senate and the House of Representatives. The most important duty of the legislative branch is to make laws. Laws are written, discussed and voted on in Congress.

There are 100 senators in the Senate, two from each

Read More

Three Branches of Government – HISTORY


  1. Separation of Powers
  2. Legislative Branch
  3. Executive Branch
  4. Judicial Branch
  5. Implied Powers of the Three Branches of Government
  6. Checks and Balances
  7. Sources

The three branches of the U.S. government are the legislative, executive and judicial branches. According to the doctrine of separation of powers, the U.S. Constitution distributed the power of the federal government among these three branches, and built a system of checks and balances to ensure that no one branch could become too powerful.

Separation of Powers

The Enlightenment philosopher Montesquieu coined the phrase “trias politica,” or separation of powers, in his influential 18th-century work “Spirit of the Laws.” His concept of a government divided into legislative, executive and judicial branches acting independently of each other inspired the framers of the U.S. Constitution, who vehemently opposed concentrating too much power in any one body of government.

In the Federalist Papers, James Madison wrote of the necessity of the

Read More

Branches of the U.S. Government

U.S. Constitution

The Founding Fathers, the framers of the U.S. Constitution, wanted to form a government that did not allow one person to have too much control. With this in mind, they wrote the Constitution to provide for a separation of powers, or three separate branches of government.

Each branch has its own responsibilities and at the same time, the three branches work together to make the country run smoothly and to assure that the rights of citizens are not ignored or disallowed. This is done through checks and balances. A branch may use its powers to check the powers of the other two in order to maintain a balance of power among the three branches of government.

Legislative – Makes Laws

Congress is composed of two parts: the Senate and the House of Representatives.


The Senate has 100 elected senators total; 2 senators per state. Each senator serves

Read More